top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

Strategy Sheets

Last year while attending ASHA, a presenter made a comment about how students are constantly thrown a variety of graphic organizers and handouts. There is no consistency between teachers and grades, and we just expect students to be able to use them on their own. One year they might be given a cute little burger that symbolizes an essay. Another year, they might be given boxes or a web. It’s always something different. That part of the conference really stuck with me and I’ve thought about it ever since.

I made some minor changes last year after the conference and found that they were successful. This year, I decided to try and create strategy sheets that can be used consistently across grades. I don’t know about you, but I’m constantly giving my kids handouts to use in class (e.g., character traits, transition words, etc…). Students find them helpful and teachers are always happy!

Introducing my FIRST mini-packet: MS & HS Strategy Sheets. I created some clean and simple strategy sheets that students can use not only during your sessions, but MOST DEFINITELY in their ELA classes (and possibly others). The packet contains the following sheets:

  1. Character Traits: organized by positive, negative, and neutral words.

  2. Transition Words: organized by type, provided with examples, and a menu of words.

  3. Sophisticate Synonyms: organized by typically overused words, with a menu of sophisticated words to choose from.

  4. Mood/Tone Words: organized by high/medium/low intensity with a menu of words to choose from.

  5. Punctuation Reminders: includes visual, example, and definition

  6. Simple, Compound, and Complex Sentences: includes example and definition

  7. Past, Present, and Future Tense: includes examples and definitions

  8. Types of Character Conflict: differentiates between internal/external conflict, gives examples, and defines.

  9. Parts of Speech: gives definition and examples.

Click here for a quick video of the sheets

I tried to make each sheet as organized as possible, without becoming too overwhelming. I work in a 6-12th grade school, so I also needed these sheets to work across grades. I already shared the packet with teachers in my school so that they can use it with their students as well. My hope is to have these sheets used consistently throughout their classes, with only minor modifications if needed!

You can find the packet on my TPT store here.

I can’t wait to hear your feedback on these sheets!


bottom of page